Facing Fears

Laughing at myself about how many times (or maybe years) I have procrastinated about starting this blog.  Here I am and I’m excited !

So many ideas – what to blog about, who to target to, how specific should it be, what to call it, how to choose a blog host, then a template…

To those of you that are still procrastinating, heed the words ‘done is better than perfect’.

To those of you who have your blog up and running, congrats!

What an awesome effort, you deserve accolades, take a ‘pause for applause’.

‘Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway’ – by Susan Jeffers is a great resource if you find yourself procrastinating like I did, to get some techniques on how to take action.

Start with 10 minutes. Set a timer and get cracking. You’ll be amazed at what you can achieve in just 10 minutes.

My friend asked me today how my blog was going. I shared that I chosen the name 10 days ago and outlined what the content would be. I told her I hadn’t had time to do any more, I truly believed I hadn’t ‘had’ time to ‘make’ time.

This was after I realised I was surfing Facebook for 10 minutes just prior to saying I didn’t have time; reality check!

If you haven’t started the blog that you have been thinking about for ages, make it happen. Be accountable. If you have a blog, applaud yourself that you made it happen and get writing on another post. It doesn’t have to be perfect.

I can’t stop smiling and I’m feeling fantastic about the evolution of ‘Lilac Lounge’.

15 thoughts on “Facing Fears

  1. Fantastic post! Thank you for the inspiration and motivation to get cracking on my own blog. Looking forward to checking back in at the Lilac Lounge for more great tips and stories soon 🙂

  2. What a coincidence or maybe a ‘meant to be’ moment that I just saw your FB post Amanda! I have been mulling over this very idea of late and spent some time this morning googling blogs from women of ‘my age’ or thereabouts to see what others are doing. Think I might just go with my own passions and get something started…. Great job and thank you x

    • No time like the present! I’m very green and it’s a steep learning curve but blogs can be edited after they are posted so it makes it a bit less scary. Can’t wait to see your blog Tania 🙂

  3. So excited and proud if u as always Amanda . I’m looking forward to some of but awesomeness coming my way via ur blogs. Xx

Leave a Reply

